Use the Building and Energy website’s online electrical contractor licence search before electrical installing work begins, then separately ask for evidence of public liability insurance; an invoice or electrical safety certificate alone is not enough. In a WA Government notice published 2 April 2025, the WA Government says a business undertaking electrical installing work must hold an electrical contractor’s licence, while a licensed contractor must hold public liability insurance and lodge official notices that may be inspected for compliance. The same notice reported a Perth Magistrates Court prosecution in which the man pleaded guilty to five charges under WA’s Electricity (Licensing) Regulations 1991, was fined $5,000 and was ordered to pay $1,224.80 in costs.

Figures checked 1 October 2026.

Use the search to confirm that the contracting business holds a valid electrical contractor’s licence. Under WA electrical safety legislation, licensed electrical workers may carry out electrical installing work only when working for an electrical contractor, and Building and Energy says only a licensed contractor should be engaged.

When checking:

  • Search for the contracting business rather than relying only on an individual’s name on an invoice.
  • Compare the business name and licence information shown in the search with the details on the quote, invoice and other supplied documents.
  • Make sure the result relates to the business that will actually perform or subcontract the work.
  • Check again if the contracting entity, scope or proposed installer changes.
  • Treat an unclear or mismatched result as a reason to pause and seek clarification, rather than assuming the paperwork proves the licence is valid.

The licence search answers the contractor-licensing question. It should not replace separate checks of public liability insurance and the paperwork associated with the electrical work.

Why do I need a separate public liability insurance check?

Building and Energy states that a licensed electrical contractor is required to hold public liability insurance. Its 2 April 2025 notice does not specify a minimum sum insured or set out a consumer method for checking whether a contractor’s policy remains active.

As practical due-diligence steps, ask the contractor for:

  • A current certificate of currency or policy schedule.
  • Details of the legal entity named as the insured, so it can be compared with the contracting business and licence search result.
  • The policy period, public liability limit and any relevant conditions or exclusions.
  • Evidence that the policy covers the work being undertaken.

Read the relevant policy’s Product Disclosure Statement, or PDS, rather than relying on a broker’s or insurer’s name alone. Keep the quote, invoice, insurance evidence, official notices supplied to you and the completed electrical safety certificate with the project records.

What should I ask about official notices and safety certificates?

A licensed contractor must lodge official notices for electrical work, and those notices may then be inspected for compliance. Separately, the WA Government notice describes receiving an electrical safety certificate for completed electrical installing work as a reassurance.

These documents have different roles. An invoice records what was billed, a safety certificate records certification of completed work, and official notices concern the regulatory notification process. None should replace checking that the contracting business holds a valid licence.

Ask the contractor:

  • Which official notices relate to the proposed work.
  • Who will lodge each notice.
  • What record or copy will be available to the customer.
  • When the electrical safety certificate will be provided after completion.

The cited notice does not describe a public online lookup for checking whether each official notice was lodged. Do not represent that such a lookup exists without checking the current Building and Energy regulator page. If the paperwork is missing or inconsistent, contact Building and Energy for the current process.

Why did the WA electrical licensing prosecution matter?

The WA Government’s 2 April 2025 notice reported that Building and Energy prosecuted a Pilbara tradesman for falsely presenting himself as a licensed electrical contractor and providing invalid safety certificates.

Court-reported detailWhat it means for your checks
In 2020, the man issued three invoices to commercial premises for electrical installing work while presenting himself as licensed.An invoice does not, by itself, establish that the contracting business held a licence.
He had never held an electrical contractor’s licence.The online search is the relevant independent licensing check.
He was charged with unauthorised signing of two electrical safety certificates using another WA electrical contractor’s licence number.A licence number printed on a certificate should not be accepted without checking the actual contracting business.
He pleaded guilty to five charges under WA’s Electricity (Licensing) Regulations 1991.Licensing and certificate-related conduct can lead to prosecution.
The court imposed a $5,000 fine and $1,224.80 in costs.The outcome was a serious financial penalty as well as a conviction.
He was not named because the court granted a spent conviction.The notice explains why the defendant is anonymous.

Magistrate Robert Young said the Regulations were in place for public safety and that deterrence and a penalty were needed to encourage compliance.

What should I do if the licence or insurance details do not match?

If the online result, invoice or policy documents use different business names, do not assume they refer to the same contractor. Ask the contractor to identify the legal entity that will perform the work, hold the insurance and issue the invoice.

If the discrepancy remains unresolved:

  • Do not rely on the invoice or safety certificate as a substitute for a valid licence check.
  • Check the current Building and Energy regulator information.
  • Ask for corrected or clearer insurance documentation.
  • Consider obtaining another quote from a contractor whose licence status can be verified.
  • Read the relevant policy PDS before relying on any insurance response or cover.

This is general information, not financial or legal advice. Check the current regulator page and the relevant policy PDS before relying on a licence record or insurance cover.

Sources

FAQ

Does a valid WA electrical contractor licence prove the business has public liability insurance?

No. Building and Energy says a licensed electrical contractor must hold public liability insurance, but the licence search and insurance evidence answer different questions. Check the contracting entity and current policy information separately.

Is an invoice or electrical safety certificate enough to prove a contractor is licensed?

No. Use the Building and Energy online licence search to verify the contracting business. An invoice or certificate is supporting paperwork, not an independent licence check.

How much public liability insurance should a WA electrical contractor have?

The 2 April 2025 WA Government notice does not state a minimum sum insured. Check the contracting entity’s current policy documents, the applicable contract and the relevant PDS rather than assuming a particular amount.

Can I check official electrical work notices online?

The cited notice says official notices must be lodged and may be inspected, but it does not describe a public online lookup. Check the current Building and Energy regulator page for the applicable verification process.

What should I do if the contractor’s name differs across the licence search, invoice and insurance policy?

Ask the contractor to explain which legal entity is providing the work, issuing the invoice and holding the insurance. Do not rely on a matching licence number alone if the contracting business cannot be clearly identified.